A legal philosophy built on honesty

Driving with a Suspended License in Indiana (DWLS)

Published in Criminal Law on November 26, 2021.

Driving with a Suspended License

Get Help from Experienced DWLS Defense Lawyers Right Away

What would we do without our cars? We love and need them—they’re essentially our lifelines to get to work, school, the grocery store, and even the hospital.

So getting caught driving on a suspended license can lead to a long path of legal troubles which can make life extremely difficult.

Commuting to work could become a daily struggle. And family members who rely on you to drive them to their destinations may suddenly find themselves with no means of transportation.

But there’s hope. You have the opportunity to get immediate help from dedicated Indiana defense lawyers. These professionals will fight for you so you can keep your license and your transportation lifeline intact. 

What Can Happen if You Violate Indiana Code 9-24-19-2?

We need to drive but the truth is, we do not have a right to. Driving is a privilege, not a right. That’s why the state of Indiana can take your license away from you for any number of reasons.

But people still decide to drive while on a suspended license in violation of Indiana Code (IC) 9-24-19-1 all of the time.

If you receive notice that the state of Indiana suspended or revoked your license, then you should not drive. There’s no middle ground.

IC 9-24-19-1 says that anyone who operates a vehicle on a public road or highway knowing that they’ve lost their driving privileges or have a suspended or revoked license commits a Class A infraction.

The penalty in Indiana for a Class A infraction is a fine of up to $10,000. 

Some people might think that driving on a suspended license is worth the risk. Who will find out? The police could catch up with you, but if you drive safely, then what could happen?

If they do catch you, then you would have to pay a fine. Paying the fine sounds simple enough. But, if you don’t properly reinstate your license, or receive specialized driving privileges then you could end up in much bigger trouble.

Driving While Suspended in Indiana Can Land You in Jail

You can go to jail in Indiana for driving on a suspended license. Under IC 9-24-19-2, you can go to jail for up to one year if you have a second conviction for driving with a suspended license in Indiana within 10 years.

A violation of IC 9-24-19-2 is a Class A misdemeanor. The police can also charge you with a Class A misdemeanor if you drive after your license was suspended for a drug offense conviction.

In fact, if you drive while suspended based on drug charges, you can face more serious charges and penalties. If someone gets hurt, dies, or suffers a catastrophic injury, then you could face felony charges. 

  • If someone gets hurt in an accident you could face a Level 6 felony wherein you face between six months and two and one-half years in prison, the advisory sentence for a Level 6 felony is one year.. 
  • If someone either dies or suffers a catastrophic injury in an accident you caused while driving suspended for a drug conviction, you could be charged with a Level 5 felony that carries a range of one to six years in prison, with an advisory sentence of three years.

If you face any of these potential penalties, the best move you can make is to retain a skilled defense attorney as soon as possible.

Seek Expert Legal Help from Experienced Indiana Traffic Offense Lawyers Right Away

Call Eskew Law at 317-343-0560 right now if you have a charge for driving while suspended in Indiana. We will listen to your story and give you our honest opinion.

Then we will organize a defense strategy that’s right for you. The consequences of violating 9-24-19-2 are too harsh to try to take on the government alone.

RATE THIS POST

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars
(No Ratings Yet)
Loading...
Speak to an Attorney